The Historic Hillsborough Commission




The Historic Hillsborough Commission, a non-profit organization established by the NC General Assembly in 1963, obtained the Burwell School property in 1965, restored the existing buildings and opened them to the public as a historic site. 

The Commission members are representative of the greater community and are appointed by the NC Governor for six-year terms.  They are eligible for reappointment for two consecutive terms.  All meetings of the Commission are open to the public and are held at the Burwell School at 319 North Churton Street in Hillsborough.

The Commissioners donate an aggregate of more than 2,000 hours each year to the operation and welfare of the Burwell School Historic Site.                                              


 Click here to read the Bylaws of the Historic Hillsborough Commission



Debbie Kodros, Chair
Martha Jenkins, Vice Chair
Sara Stephens, Secretary
Jesse Torres, Treasurer


The Historic Hillsborough Commission

David Ballard

Martha Jenkins

Melissa Booth

Deborah Kodros

Dianne Cates

Fran McCullough

Bartow Culp

Vickie McDaniel

Binnie Davis

Janie Morris

Linda Davis

Greg Orlando

Betty Eidenier

Steven Peck

Virginia Ferguson

Evelyn Poole-Kober

Susan Frankenberg

Sara Stephens

Brooks Graebner

Jesse Torres

Jan Boyd-Grant

Janie Trumbull

Sylvia Hoffert

Lisa Woodward

Jane Hogan


Chris Holaday


Janice Irwin




Meetings of the Historic Hillsborough Commission



November 2, 2017   

7:00  Executive Committee

February  1, 2018

7:00  Full Commission 

March 1, 2018

7:00   Executive Committee

April 5, 2018

7:00  Full Commission

May 3, 2018

7:00  Executive Committee

June 7, 2018

7:00   Full Commission:  Budget

September 6, 2018

7:00   Executive Committee

October 4, 2018

6:00   ANNUAL MEETING:  Full Commission




Ex-Officio Members

Tom Stevens, Mayor, Town of Hillsborough
Earl McKee, Chair, Orange County Board of Commissioners
Mark Chilton, Register of Deeds, Orange County
Susi H. Hamilton, Secretary, N.C. Department of Cultural Resources
James C. Stanford, Clerk, Orange County Superior Court
Sarah DeGennaro, Executive Director, Alliance for Historic Hillsborough



Support the Burwell School